How to delete your Instagram account

How to delete your Instagram account

Regardless of your reasoning, be it privacy concerns, mental health concerns, or productivity issues, deleting your Instagram account has many benefits. Unfortunately, you can't do that from within the app, so if you want to know how to delete Instagram, follow these steps.

Key Takeaways:

  • If you are harassed by Instagram, you can disable or permanently delete your account.
  • Before deleting your account, it's a good idea to download your data through the Instagram app.
  • When you are ready to delete or disable your account, you must do so through a web browser.

Whether you're tired of all the ads or making posts just isn't as fun as it used to be, there could be many reasons to get rid of your Insta.

If you want to get a social network out of your life, there are two options: one permanent and one temporary. We'll show you how to do both, and how to download your Instagram data so you never lose access to pictures or videos you've posted over the years.

How to delete your Instagram account: First download your data

Before deleting your account permanently, you may want to download your Instagram data. Once you're done, all your posts, stories, and chats will be permanently removed, with no way to undo the process.

It is very easy to do so. Open the Instagram app on your phone, tap the three-line menu icon at the top right, and tap "Settings." From there, select "Security" and select "Download Data".

Verify that the displayed email is correct and press "Request Download". You will receive a copy of your data within 48 hours. The email includes all photos you post, but not your messages.

How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently

Although you can request your data through the mobile app, deleting your account requires visiting the Instagram website via a web browser on a computer or mobile device.

Sign in to your account

Open a web browser and go to the Instagram deletion page. Enter your credentials and click "Login".

Choose a reason for deleting your account

Now you will see a drop-down menu. Here you can choose one of eight options as to why you want to delete your account. Select any one of them.

Enter your password and delete your account

Your Instagram account is now invisible to other users including your followers. If you change your mind about deleting your account, you have 30 days to cancel the deletion and log in again with your username and password.

How to Suspend Your Instagram Account

If permanently deleting your account seems too late for you, you can temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, which gives you the option of reactivating it at a later date. As with deleting an account, this must be done on your computer or through a mobile browser.

Also, Read: How To Clear Cache On Android

Log in to your Instagram account

Go to instagram.com on your computer web browser or mobile browser. Enter your login credentials and click the "Login" button.

Go to your profile

Click on your profile picture in the upper right corner of the browser window and select "Profile".

Edit your profile

Once on your profile page, click on the button that says "Edit Profile".

Request to suspend your Instagram account

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the "Suspend My Account" link.

Provide a reason for disabling your account

Select an option from the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to re-enter your password. Do so and then click or tap on the button that says "Suspend Account".

Final Thoughts:

All in all, deleting or disabling your Instagram account is a very simple process. Unfortunately, there's no way to do this on the iPhone or Android app, but using a browser makes the deletion process a bit more complicated. If you are in a restricted country, make sure to use one of the best VPNs for Instagram.

In case you have found a mistake in the text, please send a message to the author by selecting the mistake and pressing Ctrl-Enter.

Comments (0)

    No comments yet

You must be logged in to comment.

Sign In / Sign Up